Both the concert and symphonic bands from McDowell High School earned superior ratings at the N.C. Music Performance Adjudication (MPA) in Cullowhee recently.

Each band prepares and performs three pieces for three judges from a state list. After that performance, the band is given a new piece of music in which they have five minutes to talk about it and study it without playing. When the five minutes is complete, the band performs the new piece for a sight-reading judge.

Each judge gives a rating to the band's performance and Superior is the highest rating a band can receive.

The goal of the sanctioned concert band festival provide a performance opportunity for students and directors that offers a critical assessment of the quality of their performances by highly qualified experts in band performance.

Another goal is to encourage participation in the only state-sanctioned event that provides a summative, standards-based assessment, designed to measure student performance as related to the goals, objectives, and grade-level competencies specified in the North Carolina standard course of study.

It will also provide the opportunity for students and directors to perform for and learn from their peers in a formal concert venue, and provide a model that connects quality preparation with quality performance and supports the continued musical growth of students and directors.

 MHS Symphonic Band

Linda Allen

Candace Ammons

Jordy Arrasola

Jessica Aten

Matthew Bossinger

Christopher Boyette

Kearstin Buchanan

Joseph Caldwell

Christopher Chaffin

Dixon Cline

Patrick Conley

Liam Curtioff

Katlyn Davis

Krystal Dugan

Samuel Ellington

Shyanne Flynn

Jesus Duran-Gonzalez

Lanie Hamrick

Weldon Hamrick

Bethany Hartwell

Austin Hendley

Candace Hollifield

Faith Hollifield

Dylan Humphries

Andruw Jenkins

Ashley Jimison

Alvaro Landaverdy

Christian Lee

Dawson McEntire

Adam Miller

Isaac Mitchell

Roger Moomaw

Krystal Moore

Samuel Owens

Beatrice Sewell

Luke Sheaffer

Mariah Thien

Eliza Trimnal

Claire Turnbull

Hope Turner

Hayden Vaughn

Addiason Vess

Channing Wellman

Andie White

Ava Widmann

Blaine Williams

Isaac Williams

Heather Wood

Keaton Wooten

Sam Yang

Hannah Yoder

 MHS Concert Band

Lindsey Armer

Olivia Bell

Russell Bentley

Caylie Blankenship

Matthew Bossinger

Kynieshra Burns

Carter Christian

Hannah Coats

Brett Dale

Madison Daves

Samantha Dotson

Hank Eldridge

Emily Foster

Megan Frady

Sophia Frommer

Makenzie Galloway

Jayda Gardin

Ethan Gilliam

Lydia Hartwell

Jared Jenkins

Kaleigh Jordan

Kela Kidd

Macy Kidd

Casey Mathis

Cameron McEntire

Christopher Middleton

Isaac Mitchell

Sabecka Mitchell

Nevaeh Nieves

Darla Owiesny

Joseph Patton

Adrienne Pritchard

Andrew Rouse

Wesley Rymer

Deserae Smith

Joshua Smith

Bobbie Taylor

Nathaniel Tenney

Riley Thomas

William Ward

Raina Watts

Isaiah Whitesides

Morgan Whittemore

Alicia Wilson

Sam Yang