Filing period for 2018 elections starts Monday

This year, voters in McDowell County will be asked to choose who they want as their sheriff, clerk of Superior Court, County Commissioners and School Board members. They will also vote on who they want as their state lawmakers and a U.S. House representative.

The filing period for the 2018 elections will start at noon Monday, Feb. 12 and will end at noon Wednesday, Feb. 28, according to the McDowell County Board of Elections.

Election Day will be Tuesday, Nov. 6.

The office of sheriff will be up for election this year. That office is now held by Dudley Greene, a Republican, but he has announced he won’t seek re-election.

The office of clerk of Superior Court will be up for election. Melissa Adams, a Republican, holds this office.

Three seats on the McDowell County Commission are up for grabs this year. They are now held by David Walker, Tony Brown and Matthew Crawford, who are all Republicans.

Four seats on the McDowell County School Board are up for election too. This is a non-partisan race. The Marion seat held by Greg Barksdale, the Glenwood seat held by Terry Frank, the Nebo seat held by Bob Brackett and the Pleasant Gardens held by Brian Piercy are the ones contested this year.

Persons interested in filing for these offices may do so at the McDowell County Board of Elections at 60 East Court St. in Marion.

In addition, both state lawmakers who represent McDowell in Raleigh are up for re-election. They are N.C. Rep. Josh Dobson and N.C. Sen. Ralph Hise, both Republicans. The filing for these offices will be held in Raleigh.

And like the rest of the 11th Congressional District, voters here will select who they want to serve them in the U.S. House of Representatives. That seat is now held by Mark Meadows, a Republican. This year, there will be an election for district attorney (now held by Republican Ted Bell), the N.C. Supreme Court and the N.C. Court of appeals. The filing period for these offices will start Monday too but the filing will take place in Raleigh.

The filing period for Superior Court and District Court offices will take place from June 18 to June 29.

For more information on offices that will be on the 2018 General Election ballot or for amount of filing fees, contact Kimberly Welborn, director of elections at 652-7121, ext. 342.

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you