Incumbent Ralph Hise defeated challenger Michael Lavender in the Republican primary for NC Senate District 47, which includes McDowell, Madison, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford and Yancey counties.

Lavender, a McDowell County commissioner, did not carry his home county, losing to Hise by a 1,113 to 1,045 margin with all 17 precincts reporting, according to the state Board of Election's website. In Rutherford, Hise led Lavender 2,594 votes to 1,404 with 14 or 17 precincts reporting at 9:17 p.m. Hise held wide leads in the other counties, as well, though the vote was closer in Hise's home county of Mitchell, where he had previously served as mayor.

In the McDowell County Commission primaries, one vote separated the third place winner for the Democrats with all precincts reporting. Gary Loudermilk tallied 575 votes to Michelle W. Price's 574.

Virginia Williams led the ticket with 663 votes, followed by Dean Henline with 587.

In the GOP commission contest, incumbent David Walker led the ticket with 1,312 votes, followed by Tony Brown with 1,179, Matthew Crawford with 984, Lynn Greene with 960, Chris Allison with 521, Jake Asta with 482 and Tom Fleming with 340.

In both commission primaries, the top three vote getters advance to the general election.

All totals are unofficial.