This Tuesday, voters in McDowell will go to the polls to pick their candidates for the County Commission, the N.C. Senate, a N.C. Supreme Court justice seat, the U.S. Senate and other statewide offices.

The early voting period ended at 1 p.m. Saturday. As of Thursday, Deputy Director of Elections Janice Carpenter said 515 people have turned out to cast their ballots at the CountyAdministrationBuilding in Marion and 120 people have voted early at the Old Fort branch library.

“To me, it’s a little bit slow,” said Carpenter Friday morning.

Voting in Tuesday’s primary will be held at all 17 precincts in McDowell. The polls will open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m. Democrats, Republicans and Libertarians will be asked to nominate their candidates for various races. Unaffiliated voters can participate too but they first must declare a party preference.

Only two local races are on the ballot for the primary election.

Local Republicans and Democrats will have to choose their three candidates for the McDowell County Commission. Three seats on the board are up for election this year. Seven Republicans and four Democrats are on the ballot for the CountyCommission. The seven Republicans are incumbent David Walker and challengers Jake Asta, Chris Allison Tony Brown, Tom Fleming, Matthew Crawford and Lynn Greene. The four Democrats running for CountyCommission are Dean Henline, Gary Loudermilk, Michelle Price and Virginia Williams. The top three winners from each party will go on to face each other in the November election.

Republicans in McDowell, Madison, Avery, Mitchell, Polk and Rutherford will also have to pick a candidate for the N.C. Senate’s 47th District. Two Republicans, incumbent Ralph Hise and McDowell’s Michael Lavender, are on the primary ballot for this office. This is the real contest because no Democrat from the 47th District has filed to run for this Senate seat.

GOP voters will also be asked to choose their candidate for the U.S. Senate. Eight Republicans are on the statewide ballot for the U.S. Senate seat.

In the Democratic primary, local Democrats will be asked to make their choices for U.S. Senate and the 11th Congressional District seat in the U.S. House.

The Libertarians will have a primary too. They will be asked to pick their candidate for the U.S. Senate.

In addition, voters of all political affiliations will be asked to pick a candidate for the associate justice on the N.C. Supreme Court.

The 17 precincts and their polling places are: Marion No. 1, Marion Elementary School; Marion No. 2, East McDowell Junior High School; Marion No. 3, Clinchfield Methodist Fellowship Hall; Marion No. 4, First Freewill Baptist Church Fellowship Building; Marion No. 5, Cross Mill Church of God Fellowship Building; Pleasant Gardens, Pleasant Gardens Baptist Church; West Marion, McDowell Senior Center; Crooked Creek, Crooked Creek Fire Department; Dysartsville, Dysartsville Fire Department; Glenwood, Glenwood Fire Department; Higgins, N.C. Highway Patrol station; Montford Cove, Sugar Hill Fire Department; Nebo, Nebo Elementary School; North Cove, Ashford/North Cove Fire Department; Old Fort No. 1, Old Fort First Baptist Church Fellowship Building; Old Fort No. 2, Old Fort Wesleyan Fellowship Building; and Turkey Cove, North Cove Elementary.

People will be able to get the results Tuesday night in the commission boardroom on the first floor of the CountyAdministrationBuilding, said Carpenter.


For more information, contact the McDowell County Board of Elections at 652-7121, ext. 342.