Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017

MORGANTON Michael Dallas Winters, 55, of Morganton, died Tuesday, March 21, 2017. The family will receive friends from 4 to 5 p.m. Friday, March 24, at El Bethel Baptist Church. A memorial service will follow at 5 p.m. at the church. Sossoman Funeral Home and Crematory Center is assisting th…

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

HAMPSTEAD, Md. Mr. Lloyd Ezell Walker of Hampstead, Md. answered the call of his Lord and Savior Thursday, March 9, 2017. He was born Sept. 22, 1938, in Cleveland County to the late John Harley and Norma Lee Walker. He was also preceded in death by his wife, Thelma Sue; three borthers and tw…

Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Sunday, March 19, 2017
  • Updated

MARION Gary C. Lawing, age 69, of the Pleasant Gardens Community passed away Friday, March 17, 2017 at his residence with his family by his side.

Saturday, March 18, 2017

TROUTMAN Melvin Brown died Wednesday, March 15, 2017. He is survived by his brother Terry and wife, Jewell, (misspelled in an earlier edition of the newspaper). He is further survived by many other extended family members, including the entire Spaulding and Robinson families, who were inadve…

Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017

VALDESE Olivia Chanel Brock, 6 month old daughter of Summer and Ryan Brock, died Tuesday, March 14, 2017. The family will receive friends from 5 to 7 p.m., Thursday, March 16, at Sossoman Funeral Home. Funeral services will follow at 7 p.m., in the Colonial Chapel of Sossaman Funeral Home.

ASHEVILLE Carol Lynn Gwaltney, 64, died Friday, March 10, 2017. Arrangements have been entrusted to Asheville Mortuary Services.

MARION Linda Dale Taylor Reep, age 78, of Marion, North Carolina, passed away unexpectedly Tuesday, March 14, 2017. Born in McDowell County on July 9, 1938, Linda was born to the late Hoyle and Martha Solomon Taylor. She was preceded in death by her two sisters, Margaret Taylor and Shirley L…

MARION Essie Ruth Elliott, 94, of Marion, passed away peacefully at Hospice of Rutherford County in Forest City Wednesday, March 15, 2017. Ms. Elliot was born in McDowell County to the late Marion M. Elliott and Nora Stroud Elliott. Ms. Elliott was known as a humble and devout Christian lady…

MORGANTON Verlena Mae Ball Cook, 66, of Morganton, died Sunday, March 12, 2017. No funeral services are scheduled at this time. Kirksey Funeral Home and Cremation Services in Morganton is honored to serve the family.

Wednesday, March 15, 2017