Friday, August 18, 2017

MARION Mr. Carroll Neal Kanipe, 79, of Marion, passed away Wednesday, Aug. 16, 2017, at the North Carolina State Veterans Home in Black Mountain. A native and lifelong resident of McDowell County, Carroll was born July 13, 1938, to the late Lawton Kanipe and Belle Gurley Kanipe. He served hi…

Mary Lee Cuthbertson SPRUCE PINE Mary Lee "Sis" Snipes Cuthbertson, 93, passed away Wednesday, Aug. 16, 2017, at the John F. Keever Solace Center in Asheville. She was born Sept. 4, 1923, to the late Alonzo and Florence McKinney Snipes. She was a strong willed, independent woman, whose worki…

MARION Mr. Donald L. Stamey, 81, of Marion, passed away Wednesday, Aug. 16, 2017. The family will receive friends Monday, Aug. 21, at Bethel Free Will Baptist Church between the hours of 10 and 11 a.m. A service in celebration of his life and his homegoing will follow at 11 a.m. Westmoreland…

James Freeman MOYOCK James E. Freeman passed away at the Currituck House in Moyock, Wednesday, July 26, 2017, at the age of 98. He was predeceased by his parents, William Columbus (Dock) Freeman and Stella Franklin Freeman; his beloved wife, Nell Freeman; and six siblings. He is survived by …

Thursday, August 17, 2017

MORGANTON Nancy Louise Penley Causby, 77, died Wednesday, Aug. 16, 2017. The funeral will be held at 11 a.m., Friday, Aug. 18, 2017. Sossoman Funeral Home and Crematory Center is assisting the family.

DREXEL Ken Hemmings Sr., 73, died Tuesday, Aug. 15, 2017. The graveside service will be held at 2 p.m., today (Thursday, Aug. 17), at Burke Memorial Park. The family will greet friends in the cemetery following the service. Sossoman Funeral Home and Crematory Center is assisting the family.

Wednesday, August 16, 2017
Tuesday, August 15, 2017
Monday, August 14, 2017

MARION Mr. Jeff Nix, 44, of Marion, passed away Friday, Aug. 11, 2017. A private memorial service will be held at a later date. Beam Funeral Service & Crematory is assisting the Nix family, 828-559-8111.

Sunday, August 13, 2017
Friday, August 11, 2017
Thursday, August 10, 2017
Wednesday, August 09, 2017
Tuesday, August 08, 2017
Sunday, August 06, 2017
Friday, August 04, 2017
Thursday, August 03, 2017