Election results: Two new Marion City Council members; Voters OK alcohol change

Top vote-getter Woody Ayers and third-place finisher Ann Harkey will become the newest members of the Marion City Council, according to unofficial results Tuesday night.

And Marion voters overwhelmingly approved the on-premise sale of malt beverages with fewer restrictions.

In addition, Councilwoman Juanita Doggett, who finished second in the race for three seats, will continue her work on the council.

However, incumbent councilman Lloyd Cuthbertson finished fourth in the race and will leave the council, according to unofficial results.

Old Fort Mayor Rick Hensley won another term and both of the town’s aldermen were easily re-elected.

In the results for the Marion City Council election, challenger Ayers came out on top with 281 votes. He finished first in the race while incumbent Doggett came in second with 245 votes. Harkey, another challenger, came in third with 213 votes. The top three vote-getters were elected to the City Council.

The other candidates finished as follows: Cuthbertson (207), M. Chad Marsh (195), Jacob Blair (129), Louie Parrow (88) and Mark Hoskins (36). There were five write-in votes for City Council.

Incumbent Mayor Steve Little easily won re-election with 432 votes. He faced no formal opposition but 33 write-in votes were cast for mayor.

And voters in Marion showed their strong support for doing away with the old hotel, motel and restaurant (HMR) rule when it came to the on-premise sale of beer. Regarding the question of allowing on-premise sale of malt beverages, the results were 373 in favor with only 139 against.

In Old Fort, incumbent Mayor Rick Hensley easily won another term with 124 votes. His challenger Emmett Carson received 24 votes.

Incumbent Aldermen Wayne Stafford and Melvin Lytle faced no formal opposition. Stafford got 121 while Lytle got 118.

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you