The first fall sports seasons as part of the newly reformed Northwestern 3A/4A Conference weren’t overly kind to McDowell High’s athletic teams.

As a result, not many individual Titans and Lady Titans earned All-Conference status in voting by the league’s coaches, released this week. Football and soccer teams from the league are still active in the state playoffs, and those lists won’t be released until all teams are finished.

Girls’ tennis and golf, volleyball, and boys’ and girls’ cross country have been released.

The Lady Titan golfers had the most successful season of any of McDowell’s fall sports teams, placing third in the league, and were rewarded with a pair of all-conference selections.

Junior Tyler Price finished second in the individual conference standings and earned all-conference status for the second time. She was named to the Mountain Athletic Conference team last season in McDowell’s final year as part of that league.

Sophomore McKenzie Hartman was also named all-conference. Hartman finished 10th in the final individual standings. It was her first all-conference appearance.

The Golfer of the Year was Hickory’s Anna McDonald, who finished first in every conference match and was the league’s overall medalist. Freedom’s Rob Scott was named Coach of the Year after leading the Lady Patriots to a second-place finish behind Hickory.

Lady Titans volleyball standout Parker Brown was the only member of her team named to the All-NWC team. Brown, a senior libero, was one of the club’s most consistent defenders.

Conference champions Watauga landed five players on the all-conference list, including Offensive Player of the Year Rebekah Farthing. St. Stephens’ Avery Jackson was named the league’s top defender. Hickory’s Jason Stephens was named Coach of the Year.

Lady Titans top tennis seed Paige Shaw was named to the all-NWC squad. Hickory’s Destyne Wimbush was Player of the Year and Watauga’s Carol Almond was Coach of the Year.

No McDowell runners placed in the top 15 in either the boys’ or girls’ cross country championships, and therefore missed making the all-conference teams.

Watauga swept both championships, and had both Runners of the Year, Price St. Clair for the boys and Sophia Ritter for the girls, as well as Coach of the Year, Randy McDonough.

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you