Lady Spartans win FHC track championship

The West McDowell Middle School Lady Spartans track team won the Foothills Athletic Conference championship. Submitted

The West McDowell Middle School Lady Spartans track team captured the Foothills Conference championship last week, scoring 152.5 points in the conference championship meet.

Two Lady Spartans won a pair of league championships in their individual events.

Claudia Taylor won the long jump and triple jump, and Peyton Arrowood won the 100 and 200 meters. In addition, the 4X200 meter relay team of Ariana Moore, Marissa Miller, Jayden Ledbetter and Arrowood also took first place.

Piper West claimed second place in both the high jump and hurdles. Ara Taylor was second in the shot put; Rihana Daniels was second in the 6th-grade 100 meters; Sara Cox was second in the 7th-grade 100 meters; Morgan Repasky was second in the long jump; Jayden Ledbetter was second in the 200; and Selena Vargas was second in the 400.

Placing third for West were Vargas in the triple jump; Ledbetter in the 100 meters; and Cox in the 6th-7th-grade 800.

Fourth-place finishers for the Lady Spartans included Chloe Davis (discus), Meredith Davis (high jump), and the 4X400 relay team of Moore, Repasky, Vargas and Tatum Garrett.

Taking fifth were Ara Taylor (discus), Claudia Taylor (hurdles), Brookelynn Farmer (1,600 meters, 6th-7th-grade 800 meters) and Julia Givens (400 meters).

Eva Pool was sixth in the 6th-grade 100 meters.

West McDowell Spartan boys who scored points included Jonathan Hall (6th, discus), Charlie Marshburn (2nd, 6th-grade 100), Jayden Daniels (4th, hurdles) and Freddy Rodriguez (3rd, 1,600 meters).





Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you