The Northwestern 3A/4A All-Conference teams have been released for girls’ tennis, golf and volleyball, and the McDowell Lady Titans were well-represented on the golf team.

Four McDowell golfers, seniors Tyler Price, Kendell Brooks and Ansley Lance and junior McKenzie Hartman, played their way onto the team. Sophomore Paige Shaw was named to the tennis all-conference squad. Senior libero Kirsten Melvin was the Lady Titans’ only choice in volleyball.

Price finished second in the individual scoring in the NWC for the conference champion Lady Titans. Hartman finished fifth, Brooks sixth and Lance seventh. Price went on to qualify for the State 4A Championships last week at Pinehurst, finishing tied for 43rd.

Hickory’s Anna McDonald was named Player of the Year after claiming the conference’s individual medalist honors. Freedom’s Rob Scott was named Coach of the Year after guiding the Patriots to a second-place finish. Golfers were selected to the team based on their individual finish in the final conference standings.

Shaw was named to the All-NWC tennis team after winning the individual championship in the 4A conference tournament, edging teammate Madelin Smith in the finals.

Watauga’s Magali Turner was named Player of the Year. Jackie Finley was selected as Coach of the Year after leading Hickory High to a perfect 7-0 league record and the NWC title.

Melvin led the 10-13 Lady Titans in digs from the libero spot.

The remainder of the all-conference golf team included Hickory’s Claire Darden; Freedom’s Albany Bock and Christina Fisher; South Caldwell’s Hannah Bumgarner; Watauga’s Emily Geogue and Bethany Critcher; and Alexander Central’s Jasmine Kerley, Heather Cronan, Kaitlyn Harrington and Jasmine Dessert.

Other members of the All-NWC tennis team included Watauga’s Carolina Davidson; Hickory’s Amy Herfurth, Dawson Clifford, Anna Thorne and Mason Paradine; Alexander Central’s Kristin Ratliff and Emma Maltba; Freedom’s Savannah Vandergriff; St. Stephens’ Gabriela Cuerro; South Caldwell’s Taylor Austin, Molly Hagerty and Graci Neff; and West Caldwell’s Alyssa Hefner.

In volleyball, Rebekah Farthing of conference champions Watauga was named Player of the Year; her teammate Tegan Allan was voted the top defender. Hickory’s Alli Gambill was named Offensive Player of the Year. Watauga coach Kris Hagaman was the Coach of the Year.

In addition to Melvin and the players of the year, the rest of the all-conference volleyball team included Watauga’s Grace Hayes, Brooke Byrd, Chloe Baldwin and Jasmine VanDyke; Hickory’s Makayla Malbon, Katherine Diamonti and Julie Huggins; St. Stephens’ Neila King and Rachel Merrill; Freedom’s Madison Bailey and Madison Penley; South Caldwell’s Jordan Saunders; Alexander Central’s Bailey Williams and Olivia Benton; and West Caldwell’s Jaleah Battle.

Northwestern Conference teams are still active in the cross country postseason; soccer playoffs begin Nov. 3; and the football playoffs are set to begin Nov. 16. Those all-conference teams will be released as soon as league teams are finished with their seasons.



Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you