Titans' Boyette makes All-NWC tennis team


McDowell Titan tennis player Chris Boyette was named to the All-Northwestern 3A/4A Conference team in voting by the league’s coaches.

Boyette, a senior, was the top-seeded player for the Titans throughout the season, and becomes the second straight MHS player to make the All-NWC team. Cameron Crater made the team last season.

Boyette was joined on the all-conference team by Watauga’s Andrew Ganley and Calvin Huelsman; Hickory’s Austin Skoog, Costen Holtzman and Lewis Tate; South Caldwell’s Corey Kincaid, Andrew Mearns, Caleb Cook and Samuel Fisher; Alexander Central’s Carter Patterson and Cameron White; St. Stephens’ Zach Swisher and Charles Woy; Freedom’s Neftali Perez; and West Caldwell’s Isiah Denius.

Patterson was named Player of the Year. Hickory’s Jon Graham was voted Coach of the Year after leading the team to a second-place conference finish behind league champions South Caldwell.

The rest of the spring sports all-conference teams will be released when all schools are finished in the state playoffs.




Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you